Skip to content

The Disappearance of Weighty Katie #106

September 26, 2012
untitled

Kiss my grits 30 lbs! Not sure where they disappeared to, but I celebrate bidding them adieu.

I was always scrawny as a stick until my mom became terminally ill in 2009. Getting up at 3AM to get to my office to work four hours, grabbing a breakfast sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit to wolf down on the hour and a half drive to her hospital to be there for doctor rounds, swallowing whatever garbage the hospital cafeteria offered up (why aren’t these institutions paragons of whole and healthy food?), and coming home so beat that wise food choices weren’t even an option…guaranteed recipe for disaster. Bring on the bacon nachos and devil dogs, with wine chasers please. Then one day I woke up, looked in the mirror and stared into the unfamiliar face of Weighty Katie.

Weight Watchers started me on the road to recovery, but they pushed too many packaged, processed products for my liking, so I ditched them and went it alone.
Walking four miles a day, usually on the beach, hitting the gym four times a week for weight training, yoga twice a week, and a bit of Zumba for good measure; these were my tickets out of Tubbyville. I stopped eating anything that was prepackaged or processed. If it comes in a box or plastic, it does not enter my mouth. I have become an organic whole foods advocate, and boy, have the results been worth it. Every week I walk into my huge closet and pull out beautiful dresses, blouses, or jeans I couldn’t even zip up two years ago. And they fit, easily ! Free shopping and a brand new wardrobe. Bye bye three sizes! You are gone for good unless I have another terminally ill loved one.

For anyone who has lost a significant amount of weight, where exactly does it go? Did I lose part of an upper arm somewhere on Interstate 95? Did a chunk of thigh leap off into the sand one day while I was walking on the beach? Where does this mess disappear to? Is there a special resting place for discarded bodily molecules, and if so, do they all need therapy due to their perpetual state of rejection? Deep thoughts to ponder.

I will be disappearing in another way as well, at least temporarily.  I have decided to move back to Nowhere Texas to live near family. Things always come full circle. Who would have thunk it? I will be safe there, amidst my gun-totin, ammunition-laden, militia-joining, highly protective male relatives. They just love to shoot weasels and other vermin.

I will be busier than a one-legged dog with fleas for the forseeable future. Locating a new casa in the beautiful Texas hill country, finding the perfect job, and reconnecting with my past life are going to be consuming my universe. I will be absent from this blog for a bit of time, though I will be keeping up with all of yours; I will need the giggles.

My lifeboat has finally reached that distant shore. I can’t wait to disembark and discover the exciting future that I know is waiting. A special thanks to Donna T. and all the wonderful workers at Caroline’s House who took me into their shelter and gave me courage and hope when I felt I had neither. Ladies, you were all right; fractured Cinderellas CAN be put back together again, just like Humpty Dumpty. God bless your generous hearts. Keep up your good work.

Now I’m off to return to my past and channel my inner Twiggy. Bring on those size 8′s!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mr Rogers permalink
    September 27, 2012 2:48 am

    Very Cute! I like the new you.

  2. September 27, 2012 10:45 am

    Good for you! We didn’t cover the weight topic! Let’s keep in touch and keep on writing, even just for yourself for now. You’ve got quite a lot of amazing stories to share. Love, Lisa

  3. Charlywalker permalink
    September 27, 2012 3:56 pm

    Yeeeehaw!,Go girl..

    • September 27, 2012 10:35 pm

      Life is appreciably better in size 8′s than 14′s; I speak from personal experience!

  4. September 29, 2012 2:31 pm

    Congratulations! You are an inspiration in many ways! I’m heading out for a walk …

  5. Natalie permalink
    October 9, 2012 11:19 pm

    Love you, love you, love you!!!! Can’t wait to hear about the new adventures! My heart is always with you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

